Passaic County Community College logo, with red background
Department's top banner


212 Students Inducted Into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
Largest Group of Inductees in PCCC History

Posted May 3, 2017




A record 212 students were inducted April 27 into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the largest group of inductees in the history of Alpha Eta Chi, the PTK chapter at PCCC. See the ceremony program for their names.

The induction ceremony at the PCCC Theater on the Paterson Campus also recognized the 35th anniversary of PTK, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

Following a welcome by Dean Greg Fallon and greetings from PCCC President, Dr. Steven Rose, the ceremony was introduced by Professor Jennifer Gasparino, the faculty advisor to PTK.

Chapter historian Yemely Ventura delivered a history of Alpha Eta Chi, which recently achieved the exciting distinction of becoming a Five-Star Chapter.

Twenty alumni from various years were present and formally welcomed by Kelly Gutierrez and Miguel DeJesus, the president and vice president of the PTK Alumni Chapter.

Guest speaker Allyson Smith (‘08) served first as vice president and later as president of PTK in her time at PCCC where she was also very active in student government. After graduating from PCCC, Allyson went on to Texas A&M University on a PTK scholarship. She wrote for the college newspaper, interned at the radio station, and joined numerous organizations.

Returning to New Jersey for personal reasons, Allyson completed her BA in communications at Fairleigh Dickinson University in 2014 and continues to produce her own radio program at WFDU, the campus station. She is currently pursuing a Master’s of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing at Wilkes University in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania and writing a memoir.

Presentation of Awards and Honors

2017 All-USA Community College Academic Team

Zenya Koporoski
Doris Pagan, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar

Alpha Eta Chi Outstanding Service Award

Recipient: Kenny Juarez
Public Relations Team
College Completion Campaign
Math Bootcamp Tutor

Outstanding Leadership Award

Recipient: Yemely Ventura 
Elected 2017-18 Chapter president
Co-chair, Honors in Action Project
Middle States Regional Convention Race for Completion Team

Outstanding Fellowship Award

Recipient: Tabitha Bloodsaw  
Co-chair, College Project; 
PTK liaison to the Student Government Association
Collaborator of the Chapter Cheer

Outstanding Scholarship Award

Recipient: Zenya Koporowski  
Co-chair, Honors in Action Hallmark; 
NJ All-USA State Academic Team

Honorary Member Award

Recipient: Dr. Steven Rose, President of Passaic County Community College

This award is given to an individual who has shown consistent and outstanding support to the Chapter. An Honorary Member represents the ideals on which Phi Theta Kappa is based:
scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

Stoles of Gratitude Award

Recipient: Dean Greg Fallon
Recipient: Ms. Caroline Lederer

The Stole of Gratitude is in recognition of those who have contributed to the success of Phi Theta Kappa members collectively or individually.

Five-Star Competitive Edge Recognition

The Five-Star Competitive Edge Program is a professional development plan to enhance student’s marketable skills to make them more competitive for scholarships, transferring and careers.
The following students completed their 5-Star Competitive Edge:

  • Cameron Ameye
  • Tabitha-Anne Bloodsaw
  • Serenity Coleburn
  • Ariadna Garcia
  • Thomas Garside
  • Rayniery Gomez
  • Alexis Hofmann
  • Zenya Koprowski
  • Kristen Livria
  • Alex Medina Sosa
  • Amanda Nafash
  • Ramona Padillia
  • Doris Pagan
  • Pruvi Pierre
  • Ryan Puebla
  • Kimberly Steed
  • Yaritza Valencia Salas
  • Yemely Ventura
  • O’Shane William

See the 2017 PTK Induction Ceremony Program  and Program Insert

Watch the Induction Ceremony

Read more about PTK at PCCC